Rangamati is a district in South-eastern Bangladesh. It is a part of the Chittagong Hill Tracts.The total area of
the district is 6116.13 sq km. It is bounded by the Tripura state of India on the north, Bandarban District on the
south, Mizoram State of India and Chin State of Myanmar on the east, and Khagrachari and Chittagong Districts on
the west.

It’s a combination of Hill- Lake-Plain land The area of the district is 6116.13 sq. km of which 1291.5 sq. km is
riverine and 4824.63 sq.km.is under forest vegetation and the lake area is about 650 sq. km.

Rangamati Town is mainly divided into 13 areas. Namely Vedvedi, Collegegate, Rajbari, Newmarket, Banarupa,
Kathaltoli, Fishery Ghath, Reserve Bazar, Launch Ghath, Pathor Ghata, Tabalchori, Mazher Basti, Asam Basti.
The district of Rangamati consists of 10 upazilas, 1 municipality, 9 wards, 35 mahallas, 50 union parishads, 162
mouzas and 1347 villages. The upazilas are Baghaichhari, Barkal, Kawkhali, Belaichhari, Kaptai, Juraichhari,
Langadu, Nannerchar, RajasthaliRangapani and Rangamati sadar.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *